Pentrebach Industrial Estate is located on the former site of the
Around 1766 Anthony Bacon, founder of Cyfarthfa Ironworks, bought
a lease for land owned by the Earl of Plymouth off John Guest and
Isaac Wilkinson. Bacon's plan was to build an ironworks that could
supply Cyfarthfa with 'pig iron'. Bacon gave his brother-in-law,
Richard Hill the job of managing the Plymouth Ironworks.
The Hill family took full control of the works after Bacon's death
and by 1806-07, three blast furnaces were in production and 16
puddling furnaces had been erected, enabling Plymouth to produce
Richard died in 1818 and his sons Anthony - who ran the works -
and Richard - who dealt with sales - took over.
Anthony was 'the most scientific iron-master of his district' and
he made many improvements in the iron making process through
experimentation. He was also well respected in the town 'as he had
been 'associated with good deeds, with broad and enlightened
measures for his peoples comfort...'
Under Anthony the works were extended immensely over the next 20
years and Plymouth's 'bar-iron had a special value and was known
for its excellence throughout the world.' In fact the rails they
produced were 'A1 rated, and were remarkable for their
Anthony died in 1862 and the works were sold for £250,000. The
works eventually closed in 1880.
Puddlers Bridge was built to provide a walking and cycling route
across the A4060 aa part of the Valleys Cycle Network. The bridge
name was chosen by a local Pentrebach resident Mr Alan Lewis who
once lived in the former 'The Triangle' terraced housing. The name
is dedicated to the highly skilled ironworkers, the Puddlers. These
men turned pig iron into wrought iron by heating and stirring
molton lumps of metal; they were expert refiners.
The 'Triangle' in Pentrebach was built to house Plymouth's skilled
workers, such as Puddlers.
The Triangle was comprised of terraced rows of 2 up, 2 down stone
cottages. The houses were arranged in an unusual triangle
formation, with a 'village green' in the centre.
The Triangle was demolished on the 12th December 1977.
Pentrebach house is the former residence of the ironmaster Anthony
Hill. It was built in 1860 and was inhabited by the Hill family for
only two years.
In 1948 the American company, Hoover, chose Pentrebach as the site
of its purpose-built factory to manufacture Hoover Electric Washing
Machines. At one point it employed over 5,000 people. In the 1970's
it was responsible for the manufacture of the famous Sinclair
The Valleys Cycle Network
The Trevithick Trail route 477 is part of the National Cycle
Network. The South Wales Valleys offer over 300 miles of walking
and cycling routes that journey through some of the prettiest
scenery and finest attractions Wales has to offer.
Whether you're an experienced cyclist, a family with children, or
just looking for wonderful new places to explore by bike or on
foot, the National Cycle Network in the Valleys offers a brilliant
day out for all ages and cycling abilities.
Getting out on the Network is a great way to discover new places
by bike or on foot whilst getting fit and enjoying the fresh air.
Find out where the Network can take you www.routes2ride.org.uk/wales
Was this information useful?